Where is Menorca

Menorca is located 21km from Majorca and 225km from Barcelona in the Mediterranean Sea

Menorca or Minorca is a part of Spain and is located in the Balearic Sea. The Balearic Sea or the Catalan Sea is located in the northwestern part the Mediterranean Sea that merges into the Alboran Sea to the southwest.

Menorca is part of Balearics Islands along with Majorca (Mallorca), Ibiza and Formentera. Menorca is the second largest Balearic. The larger Majorca to the west is Menorca’s neighboring sister island. The collective name for both Menorca and Majorca is the Gymnesic Islands. Majorca is clearly visible from the west cost of Menorca being just 21 miles away.

The westernmost Balearic Islands include Ibiza and Formentera and their collective name being Pityuses or Pine islands.

Menorca’s regions

Menorca is divided into eight following regions or municipalities:

Es Mercadal
Es Migjorn Gran
Es Castell